If you’re considering filing for divorce in Oklahoma, you need to familiarize yourself with the process first. There are many steps that both parties need to go through, and they can differ from case to case. Here is a brief overview of the Oklahoma divorce process.
Check to Meet the Residency Requirements
The first step to filing for divorce in Oklahoma is to ensure that both parties meet the necessary residency requirements. One spouse must have lived in the county for 30 days and in the state for at least six months.
From Preparation to Sending Out a Divorce Petition
Once you pass the residency requirements, you can begin preparing the appropriate forms. To file for divorce, the filing party needs to prepare a petition. This is called the “Petition for Dissolution of Marriage.”
While the most common grounds for divorce are incompatibility, couples can file for divorce for any one of the following reasons:
- Fraudulent contract
- Failure to provide financially
- Imprisonment for a felony conviction
You must also prepare a written affidavit to prove that all the information in the petition is true. If you have underage children, the petition must also include their name and where they lived for the five years preceding the divorce. The petition will then be “served” to the other party.
The discovery process allows time for both parties to agree on any issues. During this period, the financial information for both parties will be disclosed and reviewed. Providing all this information promptly will help to keep the divorce process on track and avoid any delays.
You will also use this time to discuss the terms of your divorce and make sure that both parties are in agreement. If issues remain, you may have to attend subsequent court hearings until they can be settled.
Before trial, divorce mediation can help spouses settle cases. Both sides can discuss matters with a neutral mediator to help them calmly and thoroughly review the case.
During your court hearings, both sides will have a chance to present their case. If your case is a fault-based divorce, you will need to display proof either for or against the divorce.
Waiting Period and Final Resolution
If you are going through an uncontested divorce, it can be finalized within ten days. If you share children, it may take up to 90 days to reach a decision. This waiting period can be waived if there are no objections to the divorce.
Contested divorces can last for much longer. You may need to attend multiple court hearings to discuss a variety of issues. The court will need time to review these and come to a decision.
Contact Reddy & Feldhake, P.C. to Start The Divorce Process
If you need assistance beginning your divorce process, contact Reddy & Feldhake P.C. We are here to provide you with legal guidance that you can trust during this time. Reach out by giving us a call or filling out our online contact form.